top of page
  • Writer's pictureCora Younie

A Survivor's Tale in Five Acts

My The Book Eaters Story


Photo by Дмитрий Белов from Pexels

I went in The Book Eaters without any information. I knew what it was called and the general idea of what a “book eater” is. I had no grasp on what the plot would be or who the characters are. I think this was preferable. I got so much out of this book because every new twist was a satisfying bite.

The introduction of Devon and her son, Cai, a mind eater is one of the best first chapters I’ve ever read. It was immediately clear that the pacing of this book would be non-stop. It never let up. As a writer, I envy the pace. It is edited beautifully. This is where the only negative came in, for me. I didn’t have the time to read this book in one sitting. At just under 300 pages, this would’ve been ideal. Dean doesn’t fill the book with unnecessary filler. It is direct and desperate, just as Devon is.

As this single mother strives to distance herself, and her son, from her abusive family. From the onset of the book, we are exposed to Devon’s childhood and what is expected of her. This book is fantasy, but it is one of the most relatable ones I’ve ever read. This is a story about survival. This is a story about the lies of fairytales and the people who fed them to us. We learn about Devon’s past as her present unfolds in front of us.

The Book Eaters will stick with me. From the way Devon and her son eat to the desperation with which they were forced to live their lives. The complex relationships she has with the members of her family and the people she encounters on the way to her freedom. Many times, I wanted to reach out and offer her help. If you’ve ever known someone driven by survival, maybe that’s you, you’ll appreciate this book and it may leave you in tears.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page