top of page
  • Writer's pictureCora Younie

The Acknowledgements are the After Care

My Just Like Home story

It's challenging to recommend this book to others and the analogy I've used to explain it... is a lot. I had many many feelings while reading Just Like Home Sarah Gailey's new novel. Yes, this is a horror story but like most horror stories it doesn't unfold in a way that's... predictable. I even texted my partner a few days in when I thought I knew what was happening. I wasn't wrong exactly but wow was I wildly wrong.

I truly hope that many folks who love creatures creeping under the bed and find the unexpected in these pages. I picked it up because I trust Gailey with ever turn they chose to make. I've imparted the BDSM analogy because a skilled dominatrix is an artist. I don't know this from experience, full disclosure, but trust me this is the best I can do to both explain how this book made me feel AND express how raw and visceral it is executed. There are a few content warnings for this one, from serial killers to body horror to doting fathers with dark secrets. I've steered a handful of friends away from this book because of what I know about their pasts (not every book is for every person). BUT you bet your ass I explained the ending and shared the acknowledgements. That was when I cried... the acknowledgements. Now, you could go to the bookstore and just open to that last page and read a delightful piece of love that Gailey shares with their readers but to read it after the preceding pages... well, once again Gailey has written something that will stick with me forever. I'm happy that I was able to recommend this book to others who live more comfortably in the horror genre. Do I think they'll be as moved as I was... perhaps but I know that if this is too much Upright Women Wanted might be a good fit. There is a Gailey book for everyone.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page