top of page
  • Writer's pictureCora Younie

For Me... A Bit of a Disappointment

My Battle of the Linguist Mages Story


On the first page of Battle of the Linguist Mages I thought “oh, this feels like Slay (by Brittany Morris, you should read it) and Ready Player One (my least favorite book).” I was optimistic with a female protagonist and a VERY interesting magic system that this story would feel more Slay than Ready Player One – I was disappointed.

Battle for the Linguist Mages is an incredible feat in the creation of a magic system and a believable fantasy world nested in a relatable real world (until you get to the last act). But it wasn’t for me. I loved the initial explanations, and the method with which Morro got the protagonist to answer “The Call” and do the “training montage”. That was all very interesting, but as the plot moves forward involving a series of lies, betrayals, and shifting alliances, I got lost.

In my opinion, the characters are not established with enough interesting traits, personal faults, internal conflict, or personality for them to carry the weight of the world building and ever changing conflict resolution.

I would 100% recommend this book to people who like Ready Player One or are nerds about unique magic systems. But characters drive story for me and this one was lacking. YMMV.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page