top of page
  • Writer's pictureCora Younie

The First of the "Answers" Books

Updated: Nov 16, 2022

My Nona the Ninth Story

I’ve thought about Nona a lot since September 14th (and for the last year). From the announcement of a 4th book in THE MIDDLE of the series to blocking “Nona Spoilers” on twitter when the ARCs came out. I’ve wanted to know nothing and EVERYTHING about this book. I’m currently about halfway through the audiobook (2nd read) and perhaps I still feel like I know NOTHING about Nona.

For both Gideon and Harrow, I benefited from an audiobook 2nd listen. Not only is Moira Quirk’s read just one of the absolutely best things that exists in humanity. But I notice references, passing remarks, and answers that I missed on the physical read. We’ve all had those moments when we’re reading, regardless of the book and it’s associated feels, where our brain zones out on the story as our eyes continue their path down the page.

This happened to me a fair amount in my first read of Nona. I don’t think it was more or less than Gideon or Harrow, but it may have been more impactful. This book is trying to say a lot. There was a resounding hum in the fandom of who Nona is, why we’re with her for so long, and where BOE would come into play. I don’t think any of the theories I read came close to the truth as it can be interpreted by the end of Nona the Ninth.

The beauty of Muir’s work is that you have to trust her. She’s both withholding and quite generous. Where I want more big picture answers and a HEA for Gideon and Harrow; we get so many deliciously realized characters and new delightfully strange relationships (Nona and Hot Sauce).

I didn’t expect all the Jon that she delivered, perhaps those are the answers we get for now. I know I’ll catch more on the multiple re-reads. The Locked Tomb is best enjoyed on the 3rd and 4th listens, I think.

Reddit has been an invaluable asset for understanding the nuance of Harrow. I’ve, of course, sought out answers and insights there again. SPOILER INCOMING… kinda:





My favorite theory is that we have to spend time with Nona (and the reality of who Nona and in turn Alecto are), so we can truly understand the tragedy, cruelty, and weight of the decisions Jon made.


We will see with Alecto...

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page